M4C Logo AHRC Logo

AHRC – Research in Film Awards 2021

Opens 30th April- Closes 4pm UK Time on 24th June 2021

The Research in Film Awards (RIFA) is now open for submissions!


The Research in Film Awards (RIFA) celebrates the best in academic filmmaking. RIFA remains the only awards dedicated to recognising arts and humanities research through the medium of film. Since 2015, we have awarded 30 prizes, received over 1000 nominations, and showcased new and cutting-edge research from over 100 universities.

We are now inviting submissions of short films to five categories, two of which are open to members of the public:

  • The Best Research Film of the Year
  • The Best Doctoral or Early Career Film of the Year
  • The Best Climate Emergency Film of the Year (public category)
  • The Best Animated Film of the Year
  • The Inspiration Award (public category)


We’re really excited to see what films are entered this year. With £25,000 of prizes available – £5,000 per category – and a prestigious awards ceremony taking place in London in December, it promises to be RIFA’s best year yet.


You can find out more about the awards and enter on our website at www.ahrc.ukri.org/RIFA

 Entries close on 24 June 2021, 4pm UK time.